About The Well Control Institute

Home / About WCI


The vision of the Well Control Institute (WCI) is to be the industry’s definitive collaborative body and value-enhancing resource for all matters related to well control.


The mission of the WCI is to encourage safe control well practices and well bore integrity ­ through collaborative consideration toward advancing competency, processes, technology and best practices.


The WCI governance includes an Executive Board comprising industry-leading organizations and individuals dedicating their time to fulfill the purpose of the WCI.

WCI Charter

Click Here for the WCI Charter as approved by the WCI Board.

Executive Board

The WCI is governed by an independent Board of Directors consisting of 19 voting members, including a Chairman of the Board and representatives from 6 operators, 8 drilling contractors, 2 equipment manufacturers and 2 well services providers. The President and CEO of IADC is a non-voting participant of the Executive Board, and a representative of IOGP has also been invited in this capacity. The purpose of the Executive Board is to forward the work of the WCI through strategic planning and to discuss and approve initiatives consistent with that strategy. The Executive Board is also responsible for setting the budget of the WCI and administrative oversight.

Organization Member Title
WCI Morrison “Moe” Plaisance Chairman of the Board, Diamond Offshore (retired)
Petrobras Rudimar Lorenzatto Executive Manager, Offshore Well Construction, E&P
BP America Gary Jones Head of Global Wells
Shell International E&P Alan Marsack Vice President Wells Discipline
Murphy Oil and Gas Roger Jenkins President
Saudi Aramco Dawood Al-Dawood VP, Drilling & Workover
Hess  Richard Lynch Senior VP Drilling, Completions and Developments
Precision Drilling Gene Stahl President, Drilling Operations
Diamond Offshore Lyndol Dew Senior VP of Worldwide Operations
Maersk Drilling Claus Hemmingsen CEO and Member of Group Executive Board
Seadrill Leif Nielson VP Operations Performance
KCA Deutag Simon Drew President
Noble Drilling Services David Williams CEO
Helmerich & Payne John Lindsay President & CEO
Ensign Energy Services  Ed Kautz President – US Operations
Schlumberger  Jean-Francois Poupeau Executive VP Corporate Development and Communication
Currently vacant
Cameron Gary Halverson Senior VP & President, Drilling and Production Systems
NOV Joe Rovig President, Rig Systems and Aftermarket
IADC Jason McFarland President
IOGP Michael Engell-Jensen Executive Director
Stay Informed!

Send us your email and stay up-to-date with the latest WCI news and information.